LANSA Data Sync Direct

GDSN and Product Information Management Software for GS1 Compliance

Synchronization is the key to efficiency for Foodservice supply chain optimization

Synchronization is the key to efficiency for Foodservice supply chain optimizationData Sync Direct is fully aligned with the requirements and supporting attributes for the Foodservice industry to support GDSN participation. LANSA is working directly with GS1 in multiple regions to help promote the adoption of GDSN in this sector.

With many significant issues such as sustainability, food safety, food wastage and cost savings facing the sector accurate and timely information is becoming increasingly important. The foodservice initiative helps businesses capture and share standardised information throughout their business to the benefits of their customers and their supply chain:

As a foodservice distributor, manufacturer, or operator, you can reduce inefficiencies in your supply chain by using GLNs and GTINs for product identification and by exchanging product information through the GDSN. Electronically scanning barcodes with GS1 numbers for inbound and outbound transactions can help you improve the way you manage and track inventories and reduce billing, ordering and/or shipment errors. Adopting and implementing GS1 Standards can also help improve your company's order-to-cash ratio, cash flow, transportation logistics, and/or overall efficiency. And it empowers all trading partners to trace products to specific manufacturer batches/lots and track production dates – facilitating faster recalls in the event of a foodborne illness outbreak.

Manufacturers and distributors can enable trading partners access to more accurate, complete information on your products. That makes it easier for trading partners to select the right products – and dramatically cuts down on product returns.

Operators can address local and federal requirements for menu-labeling and other nutritional regulations through better product and ingredient information. You can also identify items that address consumers' dietary needs and restrictions – and improve recipes and cook staff training through more accurate preparation instructions.

By sharing data efficiently through one network, manufacturers and distributors can accelerate speed to market and enhance customer trust around new or modified products. You can also reduce the time and resources required to use cross-reference tables or proprietary files. Further, sales professionals for distributors can spend less time updating product information and more time interacting with customers and addressing their needs.

Implementation of Data Sync Direct in a Foodservice environment

In a foodservice scenario Data Sync Direct is implemented to interact with both source data from foodservice product suppliers, and publication of source data to be consumed by other demand-side organisations, such as restaurants, bars/pubs, leisure facilities, caterers, etc. This is often referred to as a 3-tier GDSN implementation. This system is used in other sectors as well like Healthcare and Alcohol/Beverages.

As with all Data Sync Direct implementations, the consumption and publication of product information can be point-point as well as via the GDSN. For maximum efficiency and benefit it is recommended that all trading partners use the GDSN to ensure data quality through the use of GS1 standards. See the diagram below.

LANSA Data Sync Direct for Foodservice

LANSA is a member of the Foodservice GS1 US Standards Initiative that facilitates GS1 standards adoption for complete and accurate data in the United States foodservice industry. Information synchronized includes baseline product information (product attributes) to facilitate the aligned exchange of complete and accurate product information among foodservice manufacturers, distributors, and operators.

For more information on the US Food Service initiative visit: 1WorldSync Food Service. For information on Foodservice initiatives in your region, contact your local GS1 Member Organization.

GS1 Member organisations across the world are driving these initiatives in their respective territories. Some examples of action currently being taken are:

GS1 UK

United Kingdom

GS1 UK is working closely with the leading food service companies to achieve their ultimate mission "Get the Right Product with the Right Information in the Right Place at the Right Time and at the Right Cost".

Working with organizations including Mitchells & Butlers, Compass, Sodexo, Whitbread, Brakes, 3663, Unilever, Molson Coors, and many others, GS1 UK has assisted in improving cost savings and increasing customer satisfaction by providing the right information within the Food Service sector.

GS1 UK hosts the Food Service Directors Group (FSDG), a strategic industry network working together to achieve a common approach to overcoming key sector issues and challenges. Membership is currently contained to the 10 largest companies within the sector. See www.gs1uk.org/our-industries/retail/foodservice-and-convenience

GS1 US Foodservice

United States of America

The three goals of the Foodservice GS1 US Standards Initiative are to:

  • Drive waste out of the foodservice supply chain
  • Improve product information for customers
  • Establish a foundation for improving food safety and traceability

The GS1 US Foodservice Standards Initiative was formed as a result of a strategic planning process facilitated by Future Perfect Consulting Services. During the process, presidents of foodservice manufacturers, distributors and operators and their supply chain leaders worked with GS1 US, GS1 Canada and Future Perfect to draft a timeline that individual companies could choose to employ in their voluntary adoption and implementation of GS1 standards.

LANSA Data Sync Direct

Datensynchronisation und Product Information Management

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel zur Effizienz in der Lieferkettenoptimierung im Foodservice

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel zur Effizienz in der Lieferkettenoptimierung im FoodserviceData Sync Direct ist auf die Anforderungen der Foodservice Branche ausgerichtet und unterstützt alle Foodservice spezifischen Attribute. LANSA arbeitet in mehreren Ländern direkt mit GS1 zusammen, um die Umsetzung von GDSN in dieser Branche zu fördern.

Durch die Vielzahl an Themen mit hohem Stellenwert wie Nachhaltigkeit, Lebensmittelsicherheit, Lebensmittelvernichtung und Kostenersparnis werden korrekte und aktuelle Informationen in der Foodservice Branche zunehmend wichtiger. Die Foodservice Initiative unterstützt Unternehmen bei der Erfassung und Synchronisation von standardisierten Produktinformationen über ihre gesamte Organisation hinweg um den Nutzen für ihre Kunden und ihrer Supply Chain maximal optimieren zu können:

Als Foodservice Händler, Hersteller oder Betreiber können Sie Ineffizienzen in der Supply Chain durch den Einsatz von GLN's und GTIN's für die Produktidentifikation und den Datenaustausch über das GDSN reduzieren. Der Einsatz von GS1 Barcodes unterstützt Sie bei der Durchführung von Inventuren und bei der Reduzierung von Fehlerquoten bei Abrechnung, Bestellung und/oder Lieferung. Desweiteren kann die Einführung und Implementierung von GS1 Standards maßgeblich zur Optimierung Ihres Order-to-Cash-Verhältnisses, Cash Flow und/oder Ihrer Transportlogistik beitragen. Alle beteiligten Handelspartner werden somit befähigt, ihre Produkte aus bestimmten Chargen/Losen verfolgen und Produktionszeitpunkte eindeutig ermitteln zu können. Dies stellt eine enorme Erleichterung für Rückrufaktionen im Falle eines Ausbruchs von Lebensmittelvergiftungen dar.

Hersteller und Betreiber können ihren Handelspartnern den Zugriff auf genauere und vollständige Produktinformationen ermöglichen. Dies erleichtert den Handelspartnern, die richtigen Produkte auszuwählen und verringert die Produktrückgaben dramatisch.

Betreiber können die gesetzlichen Anforderungen der Menükennzeichnung und anderen Ernährungsvorschriften einhalten, da sie bessere Produkt- und Zutateninformationen von ihren Handelspartnern erhalten. Ebenso können Sie erkennen, welche Produkte diätischen Ernährungsbedürfnissen und Einschränkungen entsprechen. Auch Kochrezepte und die Schulung des Küchenpersonals werden durch genauere Zubereitungshinweise signifikant verbessert.

Durch den effizienten Datenaustausch über ein Netzwerk, können Hersteller und Distributoren die Markteintrittsgeschwindigkeit beschleunigen und das Vertrauen der Kunden rund um neue oder modifizierte Produkte fördern. Sie können auch die erforderliche Zeit und Ressourcen zur Pflege Ihrer Produktinformationen verringern, da Sie keine Tabellen mit Querverweisen oder proprietäre Dateien mehr verwenden müssen. Daher benötigen die Vertriebsmitarbeiter weniger Zeit mit der Aktualisierung von Produktinformationen ihrer Distributoren und können mehr Zeit für die Interaktion mit ihren Kunden und deren Anforderungen aufbringen.

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct im Foodservice

Das folgende Beispiel zeigt die Implementierung von Data Sync Direct in einem Foodservice Dienstleistungsunternehmen. Dieses bezieht die Produktdaten von seinen Lieferanten. Gleichzeitig publiziert es diese Daten an seine Kunden, wie Restaurants, Bars, Freizeiteinrichtungen, Caterer usw. Dies wird oft als eine 3-Tier-GDSN Implementierung bezeichnet, welche auch in anderen Branchen, wie beispielsweise dem Gesundheitswesen und der Alkohol-/Getränkeindustrie eingesetzt wird.

Wie bei allen Data Sync Direct Implementierungen können Empfang und Publikation von Produktinformationen sowohl von Punkt-zu-Punkt als auch über das GDSN abgewickelt werden. Für maximale Effizienz und Nutzen wird empfohlen, dass alle teilnehmenden Handelspartner das GDSN verwenden um die Datenqualität durch den Einsatz von GS1 Standards zu gewährleisten. Siehe Diagramm unten.

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct im Foodservice

LANSA ist ein treibendes Mitglied der GS1 Foodservice Initiative und unterstützt die Foodservice Industrie mit seiner Lösung Data Sync Direct und der geballten Erfahrung wie sich Unternehmen wie z.B. Foodservice Hersteller, Distributoren und Betreiber am effizientesten an das GDSN anbinden und den größten Nutzen für sich generieren können.

LANSA ist ein Mitglied der GS1 US Foodservice Standards Initiative. Ziel der GS1 Foodservice Initiative ist die Etablierung und Umsetzung von GS1 Standards in der US Foodservice Industrie.

Die GS1 Mitgliedsorganisationen sind weltweit die treibende Kraft für diese Initiativen in ihren jeweiligen Gebieten. Einige Beispiele derzeitiger Aktivitäten sind:

GS1 UK

UK

GS1 UK arbeitet eng mit den führenden Foodservice Organisationen zusammen, um ihre ultimative Mission "Holen Sie sich das richtige Produkt mit den richtigen Informationen am richtigen Ort zur richtigen Zeit und zum richtigen Preis" zu erreichen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Organisationen wie Mitchells & Butlers, Compass, Sodexo, Whitbread, Brakes, 3663, Unilever, Molson Coors und vielen weiteren, hat GS1 UK zur Verbesserung der Kostenersparnis und Steigerung der Kundenzufriedenheit durch die Bereitstellung der richtigen Informationen in der Foodservice Branche beigetragen.

GS1 UK ist Gastgeber der Food Service Directors Group (FSDG), ein strategisches Industrienetzwerk, welches zusammenarbeitet um einen gemeinsamen Ansatz zur Bewältigung der Kernthemen und Herausforderungen in der Foodservice Branche zu erarbeiten. Die Mitgliedschaft ist derzeit auf die 10 größten Unternehmen der Branche limitiert. Siehe www.gs1uk.org/our-industries/retail/foodservice-and-convenience für weitere Informationen.

GS1 US Foodservice

USA

Die drei Ziele der GS1 US Foodservice Standards Initiative sind:

  • Abbau von Lebensmittelabfällen in der Foodservice Supply Chain
  • Verbesserung der Produktinformationen für Kunden
  • Die Gründung einer Stiftung zur Verbesserung der Lebensmittelsicherheit und Rückverfolgbarkeit

Die GS1 US Foodservice Standards Initiative wurde als Ergebnis eines strategischen Planungsprozesses von Future Perfect Consulting Services gegründet. Während dieses Prozesses arbeiteten die Geschäftsführer der Foodservice Hersteller, Distributoren und Betreiber gemeinsam mit ihren Supply Chain Verantwortlichen und mit GS1 US, GS1 Kanada und Future Perfect an dem Entwurf einer Zeitleiste, in welcher die einzelnen Unternehmen den Zeitpunkt ihrer freiwilligen Einführung und Implementierung der GS1 Standards auswählen konnten.