LANSA Data Sync Direct

GDSN and Product Information Management Software for GS1 Compliance

Synchronization is the key to improving supply chain efficiency for the Hardlines industry

Synchronization is the key to improving supply chain efficiency for the Hardlines industryData Sync Direct is fully aligned with the requirements and supporting attributes for the Hardlines and DIY industry to support full GDSN participation. LANSA is working directly with GS1 member organisations worldwide to help promote the adoption of GDSN in this emerging sector.

All across the supply chain, efficient online transactions and communications are replacing manual paper processes, which includes new item introduction at many hardlines and DIY retailers. More accurate data and less human intervention in everyday processes are helping to reduce costs and increase efficiency throughout the entire supply chain. The adoption of GS1 standards and the use of the Global Data Synchronization Network facilitate these improvements.

The result: fewer out-of-stocks, more satisfied retailers, and happier customers. The GS1 identification numbers (GTINs) also make product traceability more accurate and efficient in the case of a product recalls.

What are the benefits?

In operational terms:

At the tactical level:

In strategic terms:

Implementation of Data Sync Direct in a Hardlines environment

In a Hardlines scenario Data Sync Direct is implemented in the same way as any other retailer environment, using the standard 2-tier process – supplier publishes (supply-side) and the retailer subscribes (demand-side). As with all Data Sync Direct implementations, the consumption and publication of product information can be point-point as well as via the GDSN.

For maximum efficiency and benefit it is recommended that all trading partners use the GDSN to ensure data quality through the use of GS1 standards. In the case of Lowe's this is a mandatory requirement. See the diagram below.

Hardlines Diagram

GS1 Member organisations across the world are driving these initiatives in their respective territories. Some examples of action currently being taken are:

Lowe's

United States and Canada

The organisation spearheading GDSN in the Americas and Canada for the Hardlines community is Lowe's. For Lowe's the end goal of the data sync process is to synchronize 100% of the product data for every item supplied by a vendor. Lowe's US has, for a number of years, leveraged their Product Content Management application to enable the receipt and maintenance of complete and accurate Master Product Data from the vendor community. The application houses both Core Product Data and Extended Marketing Data including product information and images. The benefits include the ability to replace complex manual data entry in support of faster, more accurate product introduction, and the collection of additional data attributes for additional selling solutions.

Data Sync direct has been selected by Lowe's as a recommended solution for providing behind-the-firewall product information management and GDSN connectivity for Lowe's suppliers. Solution Providers selected by Lowe's were evaluated based on their technical capabilities, customer service and data performance.

GS1 Netherlands

The Netherlands

As a neutral and independent party, GS1 Netherlands is fully supporting and encouraging the do-it-yourself and garden industry to ensure the initiative actually leaves the ground, but realizing of course that the players themselves decide where the priorities lie.

Together with the leading players in the industry, GS1 Netherlands is supporting the following projects:

  1. Better management of product data transactions through accurate, timely and good quality product data (GS1 DAS).
  2. More efficient handling of returns (returns management).

GS1 Netherlands is consulting with decision makers in the market, where the key business needs are, providing solutions, obtaining commitment, setting goals and ensuring sector-wide implementation.

LANSA has been invited to participate in this initiative, as Data Sync Direct is an ideal solution to enable hardlines suppliers to quickly and efficiently participate.

GS1 Germany

Germany

Together with the leading players in the industry, GS1 Germany is supporting the following projects referring to the guiding idea to improve the cooperation between Retailers and Suppliers through adoption of the Efficient Consumer Response (ECR) concept:

  1. Optimizing data synchronization and simplify supply chain processes through comprehensive GDSN adoption in the DIY sector.
  2. Increasing Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) rates in the DIY sector, particularly the significant message types ORDER, INVOIC, DESADV in order to improve supply chain efficiency.
  3. Introduction of the GS1 128 Code (SSCC – Serial Shipping Container Code) established for tracking & tracing items in the logistics.

GS1 Germany is consulting with decision makers in the market, where the key business needs are, providing solutions, obtaining commitment, setting goals and ensuring sector-wide implementation.

Visit: www.gs1-germany.de/gs1-consult/beratung/branchen for more information about the DIY + Garden sector.

LANSA Data Sync Direct

Datensynchronisation und Product Information Management

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel zur Effizienz in der Lieferkettenoptimierung in der DIY Branche

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel zur Effizienz in der Lieferkettenoptimierung in der DIY BrancheData Sync Direct ist darauf ausgerichtet, der DIY Branche die Teilnahme am GDSN zu ermöglichen und unterstützt alle hierfür notwendigen DIY spezifischen Anforderungen an Attributen. LANSA arbeitet global mit den GS1 Mitgliedsorganisationen zusammen um den Einsatz von GDSN in dieser aufstrebenden Branche voranzutreiben.

Entlang der gesamten Lieferkette ersetzen effiziente Online Transaktionen und Kommunikation manuelle Prozesse, wie sie auch bei Produkteinführungen von vielen DIY Händlern vorkommen.

Korrekte und aktuelle Produktdaten helfen den Unternehmen dabei, die manuellen Eingriffe in die Prozesse zu verringern, Kosten zu reduzieren und die Effizienz in der gesamten Supply Chain zu steigern. Durch den Einsatz der GS1 Standards und der Nutzung des GDSN (Global Data Synchronization Network) können diese Optimierungen noch weiter ausgebaut werden.

Das Ergebnis: weniger Out-of-stocks, mehr zufriedene Händler und zufriedenere Kunden. Die GS1 Identifikationsnummern (GTIN) ermöglichen eine genauere und effizientere Rückverfolgbarkeit der Produkte im Falle einer Rückrufaktion.

Was sind die Vorteile?

Operativ:

Taktisch:

Strategisch:

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct in der DIY Branche

In der DIY Branche kommt typischerweise der Standard 2-Tier-Prozess zum Einsatz – der Lieferant (Supply-Side) veröffentlicht und der Händler (Demand-Side) abonniert die Produktinformationen. Somit können sowohl der Empfang als auch die Publikation von Produktinformationen von Punkt-zu-Punkt als auch über das GDSN, wie bei allen anderen Data Sync Direct Implementierungen, abgewickelt werden.

Für maximale Effizienz und Nutzen wird empfohlen, dass alle teilnehmenden Handelspartner das GDSN verwenden um die Datenqualität durch den Einsatz von GS1 Standards zu gewährleisten. Im Falle von Lowe's ist dies eine zwingende Voraussetzung. Im untenstehenden Beispiel Diagramm ist Data Sync Direct beim Lieferanten implementiert um die Artikelstammdaten an den Handel über einen Datenpool zu publizieren. Selbstverständlich ist natürlich auch ein Einsatz auf der Handelsseite denkbar.

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct in der DIY Branche

Die GS1 Mitgliedsorganisationen sind weltweit die treibende Kraft für diese Initiativen in ihren jeweiligen Gebieten. Einige Beispiele derzeitiger Aktivitäten sind:

Lowe's

USA und Kanada

Der Vorreiter für GDSN in der DIY Branche in den USA und Kanada ist Lowe's. Lowe's verfolgt das Hauptziel, 100% seiner Produktinformationen von den Lieferanten elektronisch zu erhalten. Lowe's US hat in den letzten Jahren sein Produktdatenmanagement System in die Lage versetzt, sowohl den Empfang als auch die Pflege der Artikelstammdaten durch Ihre Lieferanten-Community zu erlauben. Data Sync Direct hält sowohl die Artikelstammdaten als auch Marketinginformationen einschließlich Produktabbildungen vor. Der Vorteil ist, dass die komplexen manuellen Dateneingaben durch automatisierte Prozesse ersetzt werden können und gleichzeitig vollständigere, korrektere Produktinformationen mit zusätzlichen Marketingattributen zur Verfügung stehen.

Data Sync Direct wird von Lowe's als die behind-the-firewall Lösung für die Bereitstellung von Produktinformationen und für die Anbindung der Lieferanten an das GDSN empfohlen. Vor dieser Entscheidung hat Lowe's LANSA hinsichtlich ihrer technischen Funktionalitäten, Kundenservice und Performance geprüft.

GS1 Netherlands

Niederlande

Gemeinsam mit den führenden Organisationen in der DIY + Garten Branche unterstützt die GS1 Niederlande die folgenden Projekte:

  1. Bessere Verwaltung von Transaktionen durch gesteigerte Artikelstammdatenqualität (GS1 DAS)
  2. Effizientere Bearbeitung von Rücksendungen (Retourenmanagement)

GS1 Niederlande berät gemeinsam mit den Entscheidungsträgern der DIY + Garten Branche, was die wichtigsten Anforderungen der Industrie sind, stellt dafür Lösungen bereit, treibt diese voran, setzt Ziele und stellt eine branchenweite Implementierung sicher.

LANSA wurde dazu ausgewählt, diese Initiative zu begleiten, da das Data Sync Direct die ideale Lösung für eine schnelle und effiziente Aufschaltung von Lieferanten ist.

GS1 Germany

Deutschland

Gemeinsam mit den führenden Organisationen in der DIY + Garten Branche unterstützt GS1 Germany die folgenden Projekte, welche den Leitgedanken der GS1 Germany vertreten – die Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Händlern und Lieferanten durch den Einsatz von Efficient Consumer Response (ECR):

  1. Optimierung der Datensynchronisation und Vereinfachung von Prozessen in der Supply Chain durch eine flächendeckende GDSN Anbindung von Organisationen aus der DIY + Garten Branche
  2. Steigerung des Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Datenaustausches, insbesondere die Nachrichtentypen ORDER, INVOIC, DESADV zur nachhaltigen Steigerung der Supply Chain Effizienz
  3. Die Einführung des GS1-128 Code (SSCC - Serial Shipping Container Code) für Tracking & Tracing in der Logistik

GS1 Germany berät gemeinsam mit den Entscheidungsträgern der DIY + Garten Branche, was die wichtigsten Anforderungen der Industrie sind, stellt dafür Lösungen bereit, treibt diese voran, setzt Ziele und stellt eine branchenweite Implementierung sicher.

Besuchen Sie: www.gs1-germany.de/gs1-consult/beratung/branchen für mehr Informationen über die DIY + Garten Branche.