LANSA Data Sync Direct

GDSN and Product Information Management Solutions for GS1 Compliance

Synchronization is the key to improve patient safety and supply chain efficiency

Synchronization is the key to improve patient safety and supply chain efficiencyThere has never been more of a need for data synchronization and standardization in the healthcare industry than there is today. Hospitals now report that up to 20% of their supply chain costs are due to overhead associated with clearing up confusion caused by non-standardized product data across their operations.

In parallel to the global standardization of product attributes, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have implemented a law requiring healthcare manufacturers to label their products with unique device identifiers (UDIs). The competitive market landscape combined with stringent regulatory changes, increased demand for patient safety and accurate product information are driving healthcare companies to evaluate their current master data management processes. In response, companies are seeking to implement a robust Product Information Management (PIM) solution to aggregate item information in one centralized location.

Data Sync Direct makes it easy to manage product information from multiple sources and comply with global data standards, the FDA UDI ruling and internal data quality initiatives – integrating and automating every step of the process from the creation of a product to its appearance in a trading partner catalog.

The powerful product information management capabilities of Data Sync Direct allow all GDSN Market Data, including product images, and additional company attributes to be managed in a single platform.

Data Sync Direct provides:

Implementation of Data Sync Direct in a Healthcare environment

Data Sync Direct is implemented to interact with both source data from healthcare product suppliers, and publication of source data to be consumed by other demand-side organizations, such as the FDA, other healthcare providers and/or hospitals.

In addition, Data Sync Direct supports standards bodies, like GS1, whom have established the Global Data Synchronization Network (GDSN) to enable supply chain partners the ability to send and received synchronized product information via GS1-certified data pools at any time, from anywhere in the world.

Below is an example of how Data Sync Direct might sit in your enterprise to aggregate, validate and communicate your item details and associated messages with the FDA and your partners:

LANSA Data Sync Direct for Healthcare

LANSA is a member of the GS1 Healthcare US industry group that focuses on driving the adoption and implementation of GS1 Standards in the healthcare industry to improve patient safety and supply chain efficiency. GS1 Healthcare US brings together members from all segments of the healthcare industry to address the issues that most impact healthcare in the United States. This initiative will provide participants in each step of the healthcare supply chain with significant gains in efficiencies – including distributors, GPOs, healthcare providers, industry associations, manufacturers, pharmacies and solution providers.

GS1 Member organisations across the world are driving these initiatives in their respective territories. Some examples of action currently being taken are:

NHS United Kingdom

United Kingdom

NHS Chief Executive Sir David Nicholson has stated "We must make the best possible use of the huge spending power the NHS has. The NHS must share data so that we can see the prices that different organisations are paying for the same goods and services, and it must do more to make collaborative procurement a reality. I want to see Trusts publish all tender and contract information for contracts over £10,000, and I want to see good procurement practice spread quickly and effectively – in particular the use of GS1 coding." See www.gs1uk.org/news/Pages/GS1UKNewsDetails.aspx?NewsID=964 for more information.

FDA US

United States of America

GS1 US Applauds U.S. FDA for Releasing Draft Regulation Requiring Unique Device Identification System for Medical/Surgical Supply Chain. The regulation published on July 3, 2012, recognizes the GS1 GTIN as a valid unique identifier for medical/surgical products for every level of packaging. Siobhan O'Bara, vice president for healthcare, GS1 US stated "Organizations representing all aspects of the supply chain have been working together for many years to support UDI capabilities, and we are thrilled that the much-anticipated UDI draft regulation is now published. The industry is ready, willing and able to implement UDI to the benefit of patients, healthcare providers and manufacturers here in the U.S. and around the world." See www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/DeviceRegulationandGuidance/UniqueDeviceIdentification/default.htm for more information.

GS1 Australia

Australasia

A GS1 Healthcare User Group has been established, comprising representatives from all parts of the Australian and New Zealand Healthcare supply chains. Open to all GS1 Australian and GS1 New Zealand members operating in the Healthcare sector, the group serves four main functions:

  • To provide Australian and New Zealand input into the work of the global GS1 Healthcare Group
  • Education of the Australian and New Zealand Healthcare industry participants regarding application of the GS1 System in Healthcare
  • To address and document Australian and New Zealand specific Healthcare issues and bring these to the attention of the global GS1 Healthcare group for incorporation into this group's work plan
  • Drive implementation of the GS1 System in the Australian and New Zealand Healthcare sectors.

See www.gs1au.org/industry/healthcare/ for more information..

Fortune 5

A Fortune 50 Healthcare Company's Utilization of Global Standards and Data Sync Direct

Company Background

  • Global Location Numbers (GLNs) were put in place at end of 2010 for each of the company’s nine divisions
  • Global Trade Item Numbers (GTINs) were used in place of proprietary product numbers, completed in 2012, and included:
    • Assignment of GTINs to products
    • Bar codes added to boxes
    • GTIN used in business transactions with partners (orders, invoices, shipments, etc.)
  • Global Data Synchronization Network (GDSN) has been used for all product information exchange since 2012

Why Data Sync Direct?

  • Data Sync Direct was chosen as single source of product information management because LANSA: Provides a robust product information management solution globally
  • Supports compliance for FDA GUDID including validation and submission
  • Enables multiple sources of data to be aggregated, cleansed and maintained
  • Allows for review/enhancement of data
  • Manages all messaging with the 1WordSync data pool Includes full audit history for attributes, messages and workflows
  • Facilitates automatic updates of product information both internally and externally (through use of the GDSN) via streamlined workflow capabilities
  • 1WorldSync Partner – Global GDSN access

Implementation Successes

  • Developed a single repository for all product information
  • Supports multiple sources of product data – IBM mainframe (pipe delimited), SAP (IDOC), other ERPs (XML), other sources (tab delimited)
  • Met project requirements including:
    • Capture, maintain, cleanse and archive product data
    • Single automated process to be used by all divisions
    • International
    • GDSN for efficient exchange of accurate, complete and current product information globally

LANSA Data Sync Direct

Datensynchronisation und Product Information Management

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel für die Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit und Effizienz in der Lieferkette

Synchronisation ist der Schlüssel für eine verbesserte Patientensicherheit und Effizienz in der Lieferkette

Der Bedarf an globaler und standardisierter Datensynchronisation im Gesundheitswesen ist aktuell so hoch wie nie zuvor. Aus den Berichten von Krankenhäusern geht hervor, dass bis zu 20% der Mehrkosten innerhalb der Lieferkette durch nicht standardisierte Produktinformationen verursacht werden.

Deshalb wurde bereits von der FDA (Food and Drug Administration) eine neue Verordnung für UDI (Unique Device Identification) freigegeben. Die UDI ist ein weltweit einheitliches System zur Identifikation von Medizinprodukten und soll maschinenlesbar und in Klarschrift auf dem Produkt aufgebracht werden. UDI umfasst darüberhinaus den Aufbau und das Betreiben einer zentralen Datenbank (GUDID), in welcher die Produktinformationen gespeichert und öffentlich recherchierbar sind.

Hier finden Sie mehr Informationen zu UDI.

Mit Data Sync Direct ist es einfach, Produktinformationen aus verschiedenen Quellen zu konsolidieren um diese anschließend an einem einzigen Ort verwalten zu können. Ebenso erfüllt Data Sync Direct globale Standards, wie GDSN und die Anforderungen an UDI. Mit dieser integrierten und automatisierten Lösung werden Sie in die Lage versetzt, alle Prozesse eines Produktes von der Anlage, über die Synchronisation via GDSN oder an die GUDID bis hin zu zur Erscheinung im Produktkatalog zu steuern.

Die PIM (Product Information Management) Funktionalitäten von Data Sync Direct ermöglichen Ihnen ebenso die Verwaltung von Bilddaten und unternehmensindividuellen Produktinformationen auf nur einer einzigen Plattform.

Übersicht Data Sync Direct:

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct im Gesundheitswesen

Data Sync Direct kann in allen Stufen der Lieferkette im Gesundheitswesen implementiert werden, sei es bei Herstellern von Medizinprodukten, Distributoren, Einkaufsorganisationen oder in Krankenhäusern.

In der untenstehenden Abbildung sehen Sie ein Beispiel, wie Data Sync Direct in Ihrem Unternehmen eingesetzt werden kann um Produktinformationen intern zu verwalten und über GDSN an die GUDID oder an andere Handelspartner zu publizieren:

Implementierung von Data Sync Direct im Gesundheitswesen

LANSA ist Mitglied in der US-Branchengruppe GS1 Healthcare, die sich mit der Einführung und Umsetzung von GS1 Standards im Gesundheitswesen mit dem Ziel der Erhöhung der Patientensicherheit und der Effizienz innerhalb der Lieferkette beschäftigt. GS1 Healthcare US führt die Mitglieder aus allen Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens zusammen, um die Herausforderungen im US Gesundheitswesen anzugehen. Mit dieser Initiative können alle Beteiligten aus der Lieferkette im Gesundheitswesen, u.a. Distributoren, Einkaufsorganisationen, Klinikbetreiber, Branchenverbände, Hersteller, Pharmazieunternehmen und Lösungsanbieter von den wichtigsten Wertsteigerungen hinsichtlich Effizienz profitieren.

Die GS1 Mitgliedsorganisationen sind weltweit die treibende Kraft für diese Initiativen in ihren jeweiligen Einsatzgebieten. Einige Beispiele derzeitiger Aktivitäten sind:

NHS United Kingdom

UK

NHS Geschäftsführer Sir David Nicholson hat erklärt: "Wir müssen den größtmöglichen Nutzen aus der enormen Kaufkraft der NHS herausholen. Die NHS muß ihre Daten austauschen, sodaß wir die Preise sehen können, welche von verschiedenen Organisationen für die gleichen Waren und Dienstleistungen bezahlt werden. Dies müssen natürlich auch weitere Organisationen tun, um eine gemeinschaftliche Beschaffung realisieren zu können. Ich will sehen, wie „Trusts" alle Ausschreibungen und Aufträge für Verträge über 10.000 £ veröffentlicht und ebenso möchte ich eine gute Vergabepraxis für Ausschreibungen sehen, die sich schnell und effektiv im Gesundheitswesen verbreitet – insbesondere die Verwendung der GS1 Codierung. Siehe www.gs1uk.org/news/Pages/GS1UKNewsDetails.aspx?NewsID=964 für weitere Informationen.

FDA US

USA

GS1 US begrüßt die Freigabe des Verordnungsentwurfes mit der Anforderung an Unique Device Identification (UDI) Systeme für die medizinische/chirurgische Lieferkette durch die US-Zulassungsbehörde FDA. Die Verordnung wurde am 3. Juli 2012 veröffentlicht und hat die GTIN als gültige und eindeutige Kennung für medizinische/chirurgische Produkte für die gesamte Verpackungshierarchie im Gesundheitswesen anerkannt. Siobhan O'Bara, Vize Präsident für das Gesundheitswesen bei GS1 US erklärte, "Organisationen, die die gesamte Lieferkette abbilden, arbeiten seit vielen Jahren gemeinsam an der Unterstützung der UDI-Funktionen, und wir sind begeistert, dass der mit Spannung erwartete UDI Verordnungsentwurf jetzt veröffentlicht wurde. Die Industrie ist nun bereit, UDI zum Vorteil der Patienten, Dienstleistungsunternehmen und Hersteller weltweit zu implementieren." Siehe www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/DeviceRegulationandGuidance/UniqueDeviceIdentification/default.htm für weitere Informationen.

GS1 Australia

Australasien

Die GS1 Healthcare User Group wurde gegründet, bestehend aus Vertretern aller Bereiche der australischen und neuseeländischen Lieferkette im Gesundheitswesen. Diese Gruppe ist zugänglich für alle GS1 Australia und GS1 New Zealand Mitglieder, die im Gesundheitswesen tätig sind. Die Gruppe befasst sich mit vier Hauptaufgaben:

  • Den australischen und neuseeländischen Teilnehmern Einblick in die Arbeit der globalen GS1 Healthcare Group gewähren zu können
  • Weiterbildung der australischen und neuseeländischen Teilnehmer aus dem Gesundheitswesen hinsichtlich des Einsatzes des GS1 Systems im Gesundheitswesen
  • Ansprache und Dokumentation von spezifischen Problematiken im australischen und neuseeländischen Gesundheitswesen und Adressierung dieser Themen in der globalen GS1 Healthcare Group zur Aufnahme in die Aktivitätenliste
  • Treiber zur Umsetzung des GS1 Systems im australischen und neuseeländischen Gesundheitswesen

Siehe www.gs1au.org/industry/healthcare/ für weitere Informationen.

Fortune 5

Nutzung des weltweiten Standards durch die Fortune 50 Unternehmen aus dem Gesundheitswesen in den USA

Hintergrund

  • Nutzung der Global Location Number (GLN) bis Ende 2010
  • Verwendung der Global Trade Item Number (GTIN) anstelle von proprietären Artikelnummern bis Ende 2012
    • Identifikation von Artikeln über die GTIN
    • Barcodes auf Kartons/Behältnissen
    • Verwendung der GTIN im Geschäftsverkehr mit Partnern (Bestellungen, Rechnungen, Lieferungen etc.)
  • Verwendung des GDSN für den gesamten Stammdatenaustausch ab 2012